The Useful Practical Practice Washcloth

So for the past three nights my little three month daughter has switched her sleeping schedule from nights to days. Where does that leave me? With nothing to do but play with her and knit while I feed her. Spread through out these hours I began making my first washcloth for practice. I have been strictly practicing continental knitting. I have seen a lot of washcloth/dishcloth patterns for beginners. Picky person that I am didn’t really want to do any of the ones I have seen and I think that I am past the point of garter stitch projects. I thought to myself, I should just wing it and practice the basics. What I came up with is a great practice project for beginners like myself 🙂

The great thing about it is that it’s okay to to make mistakes on this because the point is that it’s a practice project and practical because once you are done you have yourself a neat little washcloth that you can be proud of. If you can make a mistake you can go back and fix it or leave it and learn from it. Anyway, I don’t know if that made any sense but it does to me in head lol just having trouble putting it into words. I’ve decided to write out a pattern for it. Below is a picture of the details. I made mistakes here and there but not many. There were bound to be mistakes since like I said, it I made it while I was feeding my baby in the middle of the night. But the pattern is written the way I meant it to be. This is the first time I have written a pattern so bear with me, I wrote it after I made it. I have not tested it. This pattern practices garter stitch, stockinette, and ribbing.

The Useful Practical Practice Washcloth

Yarn: 1 skein
Lily’s Sugar n’ Cream

or any other 100% Cotton Worsted weight yarn.
Colorway: I used Violet Veil OmbreNeedles: 10″ Size 8

Make your slip knot and co 36 using the Double Cast On method.

k 4 rows
p
k
p
k
p
k
p
*p2 k2 – repeat to end of the row
k2 p2 – repeat to end of the row
repeat from * for 4 more rows
p
k
p
k
p
k
p

*p2 k2 p2 k4 p2 k2 p2 k2 p2 k2 p2 k4 p2 k2 p2 k2
k2 p2 k2 p4 k2 p2 k2 p2 k2 p2 k2 p4 k2 p2 k2 p2
repeat from * for 4 more rows
(Note: Notice the k4 and p4 in these two rows. I did that purpose since I was making it up as I went along and I was experimenting with the ribbing. Alternately if you want it equal on both sides you can just do P2, K2 for six rows)
p
k
p
k
p
k
k 4 rows
Bind off.
Weave in ends.. I used an overcast stitch… but didn’t do too much of a good job it was only my second time doing it.

Enjoy 🙂 I hope it’s useful to some.

Soy Escuchando – The Cure – 10:15 Saturday Night

Leave a Reply

