Anticraft !


I started a project from my copy of the book, Anticraft. I chose the “Apothecary & I [Skull] Trouble” tote bag pattern, it’s actually the whole reason why I bought it. All the other patterns were just an awesome plus especially since now I am learning to knit! 🙂 I found out about the book when I stumbled upon the designers blogsite, Future Girl (link available to the right). Her website is excellent, she has tons of interesting blogs, and lots of tutorials. Who doesn’t love those? They always come in handy.

I have had the book for a while and I finally decided to make the time to make it. I’m planning to use it as a project bag. I picked out the yarns a while back. I had to choose between hot pink and this hot blue. I just really love this color and I think that hot pink and black is so common. It just didn’t talk to me. So the progress has been going okay. At first it was kinda tough. I kept ending up with extra stitches.. that hasn’t happened in a long time to me. I figured out what I was doing wrong and I have happily been crocheting away all week. I finally finished the bag portion of the project yesterday morning. I decided to give the project a break until Monday. It’s when I plan to recruit my mother to help me sew the lining. I’m really just giving her an excuse to use her new sewing machine 😉 The lining I got on sale at JoAnn’s for $4 a yard. It’s I guess a kinda faux satin with black frocked stars. Can’t wait to get started (and finished) on that. Other than the lining, I still have to make the handles and I need to embroider what I want it to say.. On the Anticraft merch page they had a few sayings on their stuff that I liked. I think I am going to have it say “Anticraftier Than Thou”. I thought that one was cute. I also liked “I Am the Anticraft”, but I liked the other one better.

Will write more later!

Soy Escuchando: Marcys Playground – the Vampires of New York

2 Responses to “Anticraft !”

  1. You bought the book because of one of my projects?! Too cool! I love the black and blue combo, too. xo!

    • Yes I did! I’m a big fan 😉 I love that pattern. I never got a chance to put in the lining, but it’s on my ‘To Do’ list since I am getting a hang of the sewing machine. I love your website, it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

