Still creating for charity

Title says it all. I am still making things for the up coming impending drop off of all the Craftster Unswap donations to my website Precious Awakening. I am so grateful for my (unofficial) charity to have been chosen, you really have no idea. This has really put a fire under my bum to keep going. Sooo here are the projects that I did. It’s not much only two (and another pair of booties for my baby girl).

Here is a lovely free pattern for a crocheted simple bunting for a micro preemie baby. I used an F hook and TLC Baby yarn that I had in Powder Yellow. I think that when I make the next one I’ll use an G hook to give it a looser feel. (Sorry for the blurry pictures. My hands were shaky.)

My next project is a crochet pattern of my own. I haven’t created the pattern for it yet. It is a blanket for a small preemie-micro preemie… but this blanket doubles as burial bunting or wrap as well. So the hospital staff has the option, lets say if they are running low on blankets it can be used as one or if the family needs a burial bunting or wrap the hospital staff can turn it into one and give it to the parents. Well, I don’t know if it’s something the staff will actually do but that is the idea behind it. Again this was made using TLC baby yarn in powder yellow.

I am going to make another one. This one fans out only on the one end because my stitches are loose, but my chain (left) is tight so there’s no room. I am going to keep this one as a wrap.

Finally this project was made for my daughter, I call them Frost Glimmer booties. I knitted these from the Lion Brand pattern mentioned on my previous post. These are pretty quick to knit (now that I am a little faster). Instead of tassel on the ends of the laces I made pom poms.. or snow balls if you will 🙂 For these cute booties I decided use to still use wool-ease despite my disappointment when I knit my “Streakers”  and they fuzzed and pilled quickly. This particular skein, White/Multi has a glittery strand which I thought may help hold it together. So far it has held up quite well. Even if it does pill later on I think that because it is white it will not look as bad. Love the way they turned out.

Soy Escuchando: Shiny Toy Guns – Don’t Cry Out

6 Responses to “Still creating for charity”

  1. Found you via ravelry. Love your premmie items. Keep up the great work 🙂

  2. “Still creating for charity Oh! What a wicked web we stitch!
    ” was indeed a marvelous posting, cannot help but
    wait to look over much more of ur posts. Time to squander a bit
    of time on the web hehe. Thanks for your time -Elisabeth

  3. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a very good job
    with this. Also, the blog loads very quick for me on
    Chrome. Outstanding Blog!

  4. I love all of your items!! Very beautiful! I was wondering if you still crochet for charities and if you would be intersted in crocheting some items for my non profit organization. We are work with local NICUs in the Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX area giving angel outfits, blankets , hats and keepsake boxes. Please let me know if you would be intersted in donating some items to is to help grieving families by supplying them with clothes or bunting for their angels!

    Thank you so much!

    • sweetnightmare Says:

      Hi,
      I would be interested in donating some items in the future. I am currently in graduate school and do not have the time to knit and crochet like I did before. But I will be graduating in May and once I do I would be willing happy to. Feel free to email me directly.

    • Tamara Scott Says:

      I live in the DFW area and can crochet, sew, knit. My niece just had a micro preemie that I’m making close for.

Leave a Reply

