It’s my first time

These past few weeks have been a little hectic. I have making Precious Memory Boxes for Precious Awakening and making little crochet hats to donate to a hospital where an online friends 6 month old daughter had passed away. She asked instead of flowers for everyone to send donations for the hospital NICU/PICU. So the group that I am apart of online are all going to make donations of hats. So here are a few I have done so far. I experimented a bit with some color and lace.

SDC11996

While I was at it I also took a break to crochet a pair of little yellow Mary Jane’s for a special online friend who is expect very soon! Then two people at church have recently had babies, so there goes another two pairs.

Updating on my beautiful daughter… In one week she began pulling herself up in her crib and we discovered her first little tooth (or might I say fang! It’s sharp) has emerged! I can’t believe how big she is getting and how the time is flying by. Can’t believe she is going to be one in a few months.

So my recent big project that I chose to challenge myself with is a baby hoodie (pattern available free from Lion Brand), so it’s my first time :). I made two different ones. This first hoodie was made with Lion Brand Cupcake yarn (colorway Marshmellow yum) and the entire thing is worked up in garter stitch. It was so easy to make and worked up so quick. It did however sit in a box for a while after the pieces were done because I was afraid to sew the pieces together but when I did and sewed the buttons on it came out just perfect. I made it in a size 3-6 months. It isn’t for anyone in particular I just decided I wanted to do something I had never done before. The buttons are sooo cute. They are little lime green and blue bees. I’m really happy about how this one turned out


This next one (also available for free at Lion Brand) was made with Lion Brand Jiffy yarn in Charcole. This one I made in a size 12 months. This also worked up and this one was harder. I had to pick up stitches on the shoulders in order to knit the sleeves. I finally figured how to do that but did not make it like the pattern asks. I was supposed to make it in all garter stitch (the front and back is done in stockinette) but I didn’t really like it like that. So this is what I got after sewing it up.. The sewing job on the arms are HORRIBLE. I wish I knew how to make it look better. What really threw me off was that I had decreases at the edges of the sleeves and when I sewed it together using the mattress stitch it was soooo hard to figure out where I was supposed to be picking up the bar. SIGH, I’m too embrassed to gift this because of the way it looks. I am thinking to remove the sleeves and either redo them or just remove it and make it into a vest?? What do you think? The other change that I made is that this hoodie is not a hoodie, I just made it into a sweater as you can see. Instead I crocheted a collar. I’m happy with that, but overall it is a disaster. I think that maybe I needed to pick up more stitches for the sleeves, I don’t know 😦

Soy Escuchando: Massive Attack / Mezzanine / Inertia Creeps

2 Responses to “It’s my first time”

  1. IN WISH YUO GOOLUCKY 2 ME I NEED SOMEBODY LIKE YUO AM LEAVER BUENOS-AIRES ARGENTINA AM FROM SOUTH AFRICA SO WHEN YUO FILL 2 TALK WITM ME AM THERE SO WE CAN EACH AZA WELL.I WISH YUO GOODLUCKY AND GOD BLSS YUO

  2. Very nice Mary Jane booties, very nice work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

